Home Page

Meet the Governors

Governors are a group of volunteers who include parents, staff and members of our local community. Our main role is to promote ongoing improvements in standards throughout the school. We help the headteacher, and staff, plan the school’s long-term direction and we evaluate progress. We help set the school’s aims and values and are responsible for some staff appointments, including the head. Many of our responsibilities carry a statutory requirement. This means we are obliged by law to do things such as agree the annual budget.

Governors do not become involved in the day to day management of the school – this is the headteacher’s responsibility, but we hold the headteacher to account for the performance of the school.

Our role is sometimes described as a ‘critical friend’. This does not mean that we are there to criticise the head or the school. Instead we try to ask useful questions to gain a greater understanding of the school and to help the continuous improvement of Norman Street Primary School.

Keith Teasdale (LA Governor) - Chair of Governors, English Governor
Keith is a Minister at St Cuthberts and also St Aidans churches in Carlisle. He brings a wealth of experience to the governing body having been a governor for a number of years in the North East


Andrew Heron (Co-opted Governor) - Vice Chair of Governors, Chair of Resources Committee, Mathematics Governor

As a chartered accountant with experience as an auditor and a manager in the education sector, Andrew provides particular support to the Governing Body and the School in key financial and resource areas. Andrew is also the Governor with particular responsibility for maths and he takes a keen interest in the progress of pupils and the school in this area. Outside of Governor responsibilities, Andrew is father to three boys, two of whom are at Norman Street, and he works in the role of Deputy Director of Finance at the University of Cumbria.


Kate Turner (Co-opted Governor)

Kate has been a governor for four years and has two children attending Norman Street. Kate brings her expert knowledge of employment law to the governing body and this is especially useful when governors are looking at staffing matters.


Joanne Routledge (Co-opted Governor) - Chair of Staffing Committee

Joanne is responsible for the monitoring of Early years Foundation Stage (EYFS). Her skills and experience in this area are due to her running a local children’s day nursery since 1991, the nursery’s last two Ofsted inspections have resulted in an ‘Outstanding’ grading. Joanne thoroughly enjoys her involvement with Norman Street Primary School and used to attend as a pupil herself.


Miss J. Rae (new appointment)

Miss Rae is currently Assistant Principal at Richard Rose Central Academy.


Clive Beck (Co-opted Governor) - Health & Safety Governor

As an ex-pupil from over 50 years ago Clive has a strong attachment to the school and with nearly 10 years governorship now still has lots to contribute to the school.  Clive has governor responsibilities in the Health and Safety plus Resources area.  Outside of being a governor Clive has a professional working life in Sport, leisure and PE teaching.


Miss D Canavan (staff governor)


Diane Naylor (Clerk to Governors)

Diane has been a governor for the last 12 years in varying roles. She is currently a teaching assistant with a key worker role in year 1. Diane has been employed by Norman Street School for 7 years but has been a member of the school as a parent, a volunteer and was Chair of Governors for four years.


Carolyn Murray (Headteacher)


Parents have recently elected two new parent governors and the governing body: Mr Peter Healy and Mrs Daniella Mason.